Writing unlikeable anime reviews – some thoughts

Over the past few days, I’ve been putting off writing a review.
That alone raised some issues for me and I seriously questioned if I should write about something I wouldn’t enjoy writing. After all, this blog was born from my enthusiasm and admiration of anime – 5 Centimeters Per Second really sparked this and inspired me to start writing reviews.
Recently, I’ve been reviewing short anime and although there have been some good ones, there’s been a lot of ones that I disliked along the way which is unavoidable. I have reviewed all the ones I’ve watched but I’ve noticed in myself, and my writing, that the ones I least enjoyed (and wasn’t bothered about) have felt more of a chore to write. I don’t want my blog to feel like that.

Should I really write about something I have no desire to write about? Where’s the fun in that?

It’s a tricky situation.

I’m in two minds.
I think that it’s good to write about the anime I have enjoyed and the ones I haven’t to compare and contrast them and to evaluate reasons as to why I didn’t enjoy them as much. To look deeper into the film and notice the great parts of it, which will challenge the way I think about it, even if I didn’t like to watch it.
But at the same time, I just want to fill my blog with wonderful anime that I feel enthused about to inspire others to watch them – and if people don’t agree on my views, we can have an interesting discussion about it.

If I feel very strongly about how much I didn’t like something I have seen, that can make for a very interesting read. But if I’m not bothered about it, if I’m not inspired to tell the world why I disliked it so much, why should I write about it at all?

I hope I can find the answer within myself soon.

Leave a Reply

